The biggest revelation I have had in the last year is that we, as a westernised community, eat to survive. 

No, of course I don't mean we gulp down a meal in desperation in case we don't get fed soon after... we are far from that!! I mean that we eat what we want, when we want and eat to satisfy in that moment. Now of course this is a complete generalisation so please don't be offended if this is not you. Also, I am not meaning to say that food should not be tasty and satisfying in that moment - it should be! But... We rarely eat a meal thinking about how it will affect us in a week, a year or even 10 years. We don't eat with the mentality that we are using that meal to contribute to the constant cycle of our bodies trying to maintain themselves. Personally, I have taken for granted the work my liver, kidneys etc etc has done over the last 25 years. We don't control our organs....really. But we can help them do their job best! 

So with that said I went on a goose hunt to find every lecture, paper and organisation that could tell me what the food industry isn't telling us. We have to remember that industrialisation has turned our food industry into a business. "All natural" isn't organic, and "fat free" is actually worse for you and more carcinogenic! Can you believe it!? 

So then I started thinking about how to take in and deal with all this information. Do we go FULL hippy? Do we abandon the structure of society (in regards to food) altogether and go full RAW? Some people do and full kudos to them! The main thing that hit me though was my responsibility to care for what I've been given. Its like someone were to give you a brand new car... and you put what everyone else puts in it and generally the cheaper stuff so you can save some money. Of course its definitely not the best quality but it keeps it running. Then 10, 20, 30 years down the track you have a problem with it and take it back to the person who gave it to you and ask why they gave you a dodgey car! "Fix it please?" you ask... Often the body is so exhausted from trying to maintain itself without your help that full recovery is hard work! If you had taken more time to invest into the car and put the good oil and the good fuel in it, it would still be running strong! Moreover, is it not disrespectful to the person who gave it to you? 

I have been inspired to care more for the body I was blessed with in order that I may live long and live well! I have a lot to do in the next 60+ years! I want to care for the gift of my families bodies too. I want to do whatever I can in my own power to make sure they are reaching their full potential in health and growth. 

so that is where I am heading with this "thrive not survive" thing.... So many yummy recipes to come, interesting papers to post and pondered thoughts to share - please always feel free to engage in that discussion because I hope to continue learning from you! 



Rach
7/22/2013 06:32:11 am

Great blog! Couldn't agree more with everything you said. It's scary what the food industry (and media!) feed us and tell us what's "healthy". Even Australia's heart foundation tick if approval is a joke!

Reply
Judith
7/27/2013 12:48:48 pm

Great blog, can't wait to hear more about it.
It is difficult to 'snap' out of the life-draining foods, because they are so yummy... We are eating out of convenience and making unwise decision when it comes to our long-term health. It can be really hard to make new habits as we keep getting drawn back to the old the one..

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    Author

    I'm a believer in Jesus, a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mum, a nurse, a dancer, a singer, a missionary, a student, a preacher and a wanna-be 50's fashionista.